Foundations of Biology (spring 2010)

From eebedia

Jump to: navigation, search
Photo taken by K. Schwenk just 3 mi. from campus!









Contents

THIS PAGE IS FOR DR. SCHWENK'S LECTURE MATERIAL ONLY

See the Bio 1102 HuskyCT web page for a link to Dr. Taigen's lecture material


LOOK HERE FOR SPECIAL ANNOUNCEMENTS, LINKS, ETC.



  • DOWNLOAD ARTICLE FOR 2 EXTRA CREDIT QUESTIONS ON EXAM 4 HERE (read the article and answer two questions about it for extra credit points):
  • Schwenk, K. (2002) Aristotle’s ghost. Creative Nonfiction No.19:32-40 (Special Issue: “Diversity Dialogues”). click on pdf icon: Pdficon small.gif

  • EXAM 3 ANSWER KEYS ARE POSTED AT BOTTOM OF PAGE (along with lecture PowerPoints)

  • KEEP YOUR COPIES OF EXAMS 1, 2 AND 3 FOR STUDYING! If you take the optional, comprehensive exam after the 4th lecture exam (during the final exam period), some of the questions will be taken directly from these exams, unchanged... REMEMBER: the optional exam covers material from the first three quarters of the course ONLY (i.e., the material covered by exams 1-3 (but note, only SOME of the questions from exams 1-3 will be the same)

  • LECTURE EXAM 4 (+ OPTIONAL EXAM)—Monday, 3 May, 10:30 am in the lecture room, TLS 154. Bring a no. 2 pencil and your UConn ID!


Course Instructors

Kurt Schwenk
Ted Taigen


click on Dr. Schwenk's link to learn about his research and what goes on in his lab

Dr. Kurt Schwenk
Dr. Ted Taigen









Contact Information for Dr. Schwenk

Office: Pharmacy/Biology Building 600
Lab: BioPharm 410, 412
Office phone: (860) 486-0351
Lab phone: 860-486-4158
Fax: (860) 486-6364
Email: kurt.schwenk@uconn.edu

Office Hours


11:00-12:00 Monday (immediately after lecture)
11:00-12:00 Wednesday (immediately after lecture)

AND

By appointment:
email (kurt.schwenk@uconn.edu)
phone (486-0351)
or
talk to me after class

How to Get to Dr. Schwenk's Office


From the lecture room (154) in Torrey Life Sciences (TLS):

  • from lobby vestibule outside lecture hall, go through gate and downstairs to basement floor
  • exit through doorway at bottom of stairs and turn left (east) down hallway
  • at end of hallway, turn right and go through double doors into bottom floor of Pharmacy-Biology Bldg.
  • freight elevator is just ahead on left—take it to the 6th floor
  • exit elevator and turn right—office door is right there (name on wall next to door)
  • knock then enter

From Pharmacy-Biology Bldg. main entrance:

  • from main lobby, take elevator to 6th floor
  • exit elevator and turn right (north)
  • keep walking and come to scary, intimidating, closed double doors with sign that says "Alarm Will Sound"
  • ignore scary sign and walk right through doors, head held high (alarm only works at night)
  • keep walking to end of lab hallway, then exit through second set of double doors
  • my office is just ahead on right, next to second (freight) elevator (name on wall next to door)
  • knock then enter

Dr. Schwenk's Lecture Syllabus


FIRST QUARTER:

DATE

Wed 20 Jan
Fri 22 Jan

Mon 25 Jan
Wed 27 Jan
Fri 29 Jan

Mon 1 Feb
Wed 3 Feb
Fri 5 Feb

Mon 8 Feb
Wed 10 Feb
Fri 12 Feb

Mon 15 Feb

NUMBER

1
2

3
4
5

6
7
8

9
10
11

LECTURE TITLE

Course mechanics/The nature of life
Evolution as the unifying principle of biology

The chemistry of life
The chemistry of life
Cells and the chemistry of life

Cells and the chemistry of life
Cells and energy—using it and making it
Cells and energy—using it and making it

Cells and energy—using it and making it
Circulation and respiration
Homeostasis (*didn't get to - don't need to know*)

EXAM 1

TEXTBOOK READING

Chapter 1
Chapter 1

Chapter 2
Chapter 2
Chapter 2

Chapter 3
Chapter 3
Chapter 3

Chapter 3
Chapter 14
Chapter 15

LAB TOPIC

no lab
no lab

Diversity of Cells
Diversity of Cells
Diversity of Cells

Enzymes
Enzymes
Enzymes

Cardiovascular System
Cardiovascular System
Cardiovascular System

Genetics


THIRD QUARTER:

DATE

Mon 29 Mar
Wed 31 Mar
Fri 2 Apr

Mon 5 Apr
Wed 7 Apr
Fri 9 Apr

Mon 12 Apr
Wed 14 Apr
Fri 16 Apr

Mon 19 Apr
Wed 21 Apr
Fri 22 Apr

NUMBER

12
13
14

15
16


17
18
19

20
21
22

LECTURE TITLE

Cell division, cell cycles, mitosis
Meiosis
Meiosis and reproduction

Gametogenesis, Fertilization and Implantation
Human Reproduction, Development and Reproductive Cycles
EXAM 3

Reproductive Behavior
Sexual Selection and Evolution
Evolution—Evidence

Evolution—Random Processes and Natural Selection
Phylogeny and Evolution
Organismal Diversity—the 3 Domains

TEXTBOOK READING

Chapter 4
Chapter 4
Chapter 4

Chapter 4, 8
Chapter 8


Chapter 8, 9
Chapter 9
Chapter 9

Chapter 9
Chapter 9, 10
Chapter 9, 10

LAB TOPIC

Reproductions
Reproduction
Reproduction

Evolution
Evolution
Evolution

Plant Diversity
Plant Diversity
Plant Diversity

Animal Diversity
Animal Diversity
Animal Diversity


Download Lecture Powerpoints Here


NOTE 1: THE POWERPOINT SLIDES DO NOT SUBSTITUTE FOR COMPLETE NOTES—YOU ARE RESPONSIBLE FOR ALL MATERIAL PRESENTED IN LECTURE WHETHER IT IS WRITTEN DOWN IN A POWERPOINT OR ON THE BOARD, OR NOT...

NOTE 2: The lecture numbers correspond to the numbers in the syllabus above. HOWEVER, the PowerPoints cover what I ACTUALLY got through in class, even if it doesn't correspond exactly to the lecture titles in the syllabus.

|

FIRST QUARTER


1/20/10 LECTURES 1 AND 2

1/22/10 (see above)

1/25/10 LECTURE 3

  • A study sheetwith info about nerve pathways and notochords

1/27/10 LECTURE 4

1/29/10 LECTURE 5

2/1/10 LECTURE 6

2/3/10 LECTURE 7

2/5/10 LECTURE 8

2/8/10 LECTURE 9 NOTE: I made some stupid mistakes in lecture; corrected in this PowerPoint; noted in 2/12 lecture

2/10/10 NO LECTURE - SNOW DAY!

2/12/10 LECTURE 10

2/15/10 LECTURE 11 NOTE: I added lots of new pics to this version that weren't in lecture—NO NEW MATERIAL—just extra stuff to help understand what was mentioned in lecture

2/17/10 LECTURE EXAM 1

|

THIRD QUARTER


3/29/10 LECTURE 12

3/31/10 LECTURE 13

4/2/10 LECTURE 14

4/5/10 LECTURE 15

4/7/10 LECTURE 16

4/9/10 LECTURE EXAM 3

Mon 4/12/10 LECTURE 17

Wed 4/14/10 LECTURE 18

Fri 4/16/10 LECTURE 19

Mon 4/19/10 LECTURE 20

Wed 4/21/10 LECTURE 21

Fri 4/23/10 LECTURE 22

Mon 4/26/10 Dr. Taigen lecture

Wed 4/28/10 Dr. Taigen lecture

Frd 4/30/10 Dr. Taigen lecture

Mon 5/3/10 FINAL EXAM





Personal tools