skip to content

 Show: [All] [Faculty] [Staff] [Grads] [Postdocs] [Former]


EEB Faculty

This is a listing restricted to the faculty of the EEB Department. Please contact Kathy Tebo to report inaccuracies or omissions.

 
Photo of Eldridge Adams Adams, Eldridge (Professor)
Office: BioPharm 205A
Phone: (860) 486-5894
E-mail: eldridge.adams@uconn.edu
Ecology, behavior and genetics of social insects, especially ants and termites; behavioral mechanisms in ecology; social behavior, territory defense and communication.

 
Photo of Jenica Allen Allen, Jenica (Assistant Professor in Residence)
Office: TLS 466
Phone:  860-486-8964
E-mail: jenica.allen@uconn.edu
Global change ecology and application of Bayesian methods, with an emphasis on invasive species distributions, plant phenology, climate change impacts, and land use/land cover change.

 
Photo of Andrew Bush Bush, Andrew (Associate Professor)
Office: TLS 472 or Beach 240
Phone: (860) 486-9359
E-mail: andrew.bush@uconn.edu
Paleobiology, including Phanerozoic trends in ecospace utilization and biodiversity; gradient analyses of patchy paleoecologic distributions; and stratigraphy and extinction in the Late Devonian of the Appalachian Basin.

 
Photo of Janine Caira Caira, Janine (Professor)
Office: TLS 483
Phone: (860) 486-4060
E-mail: janine.caira@uconn.edu
Morphology, taxonomy, systematics and evolution of platyhelminths, especially tapeworms of sharks and rays.

 
Photo of Robin Chazdon Chazdon, Robin (Professor)
Office: BioPharm 205C
Phone: (860) 486-4057
E-mail: robin.chazdon@uconn.edu
Functional ecology of plants; photosynthesis and growth responses to light variation; tropical forest ecology, succession and management.

 
Photo of Felix Coe Coe, Felix (Associate Professor)
Office: West Hartford / TLS 362
Phone: (860) 570-9254 / (860) 486-2227
E-mail: felix.coe@uconn.edu
Ethnobotany; systematics and floristics of New World Piperaceae; floristics of Mesoamerica and southeastern United States; tropical forest ecology.

 
Photo of Robert Colwell Colwell, Robert (Professor)
Office: TLS 375
Phone: (860) 486-4395
E-mail: robert.colwell@uconn.edu
Community ecology; species interactions and coevolution, especially among arthropods and plants; species diversity and biogeography; population structure, speciation and evolution.

 
Crespi, Jean (Associate Professor)
Office: 
Phone: (860) 486-4372
E-mail: jean.crespi@uconn.edu
Structural Geology and Tectonics

 
Photo of Pamela Diggle Diggle, Pamela (Associate Department Head)
Office: PBB 500A
Phone: 860-486-4788
E-mail: pamela.diggle@uconn.edu
Effects of genotype, environment, and ontogenetic history on the development and evolutionary diversification of plant phenotypes

 
Photo of Chris Elphick Elphick, Chris (Associate Professor)
Office: TLS 374
Phone: (860) 486-4547
E-mail: chris.elphick@uconn.edu
Avian conservation biology and ecology. In particular, conservation in agricultural settings, large-scale conservation planning, and the behavior of dispersal.

 
Photo of Adam Fry Fry, Adam (Lecturer)
Office: TLS 308
Phone: (860) 486-4689
E-mail: adam.fry@uconn.edu
Avian population genetics and phylogeography; genetics of host-endosymbiont coevolution, particularly the Wolbachia-Drosophila association. Current research focuses on identifying best practices in university-level pedagogy and the assessment of teaching

 
Photo of Bernard Goffinet Goffinet, Bernard (Professor)
Office: BioPharm 300
Phone: (860) 486-5290
E-mail: bernard.goffinet@uconn.edu
Systematics of bryophytes and lichenized fungi; evolution of spore dispersal mechanisms and breeding systems in mosses; evolution of multiple symbioses and photomorphism in lichens.

 
Photo of Charles Henry Henry, Charles (Professor)
Office: TLS 479
Phone: (860) 486-4450
E-mail: charles.henry@uconn.edu
Insect behavior and evolution; processes of speciation; behavior, morphology and systematics of Neuroptera; life history, courtship, and communication in lacewings; acoustic behavior of insects.

 
Photo of Susan Herrick Herrick, Susan (Assistant Professor in Residence)
Office: TLS 470
Phone: (860) 486-5662
E-mail: susan.herrick@uconn.edu
Behavioral ecology and herpetology, particularly interested in social behavior and interspecific interactions. Currently working on spatial and acoustic interactions between breeding ranid frogs.

 
Photo of Kent Holsinger Holsinger, Kent (Professor)
Office: BioPharm 305A
Phone: (860) 486-4059
E-mail: kent.holsinger@uconn.edu
Theoretical population genetics; plant population genetics and evolution; evolution of plant mating systems; conservation biology; plant systematics; molecular evolution.

 
Photo of Elizabeth Jockusch Jockusch, Elizabeth (Associate Professor)
Office: BioPharm 305B
Phone: (860) 486-4452
E-mail: elizabeth.jockusch@uconn.edu
Phenotypic evolution; particularly evolution of development and evolution of phenotypic plasticity in basal insects and salamanders; systematics.

 
Photo of Cynthia Jones Jones, Cynthia (Professor)
Office: BioPharm 400
Phone: (860) 486-4150
E-mail: cynthia.s.jones@uconn.edu
Development and morphological evolution in vascular plants; plant structure and function; developmental basis of plasticity; developmental phenology and ecology of forest herbs.

 
Photo of Donald Les Les, Donald (Professor)
Office: BioPharm 305C
Phone: (860) 486-5703
E-mail: don.les@uconn.edu
Angiosperm systematics; phylogeny, evolution, and reproductive biology of aquatic angiosperms; molecular evolution; genetic consequences of plant rarity.

 
Photo of Louise Lewis Lewis, Louise (Professor)
Office: BioPharm 200
Phone: (860) 486-6723
E-mail: louise.lewis@uconn.edu
Systematics and evolution of green algae, especially terrestrial forms; phylogeny of basal green plants; diversity of desert algae.

 
Photo of Paul Lewis Lewis, Paul (Associate Professor)
Office: TLS 166A
Phone: (860) 486-2069
E-mail: paul.lewis@uconn.edu
Phylogenetic theory and methodology; analysis of discrete genetic data, including allelic and nucleotide sequence data; phylogenetic applications of genetic algorithms; angiosperm systematics.

 
Photo of Gene Likens Likens, Gene (Distinguished Research Professor)
Office: BioPharm 600A
Phone: (860) 486-0367
E-mail: likensg@caryinstitute.org

 
Photo of Paula Philbrick Philbrick, Paula (Lecturer)
Office: Waterbury Campus 306
Phone: (203) 236-9845
E-mail: paula.philbrick@uconn.edu
The biology of long-lived macrophytes with a current focus on the importance of associated microbiota

 
Photo of Margaret Rubega Rubega, Margaret (Associate Professor)
Office: BioPharm 500
Phone: (860) 486-4502
E-mail: margaret.rubega@uconn.edu
Avian functional and evolutionary morphology, especially of feeding structures; feeding mechanics; functional aspects of behavior; ecology; conservation biology.

 
Photo of Carl Schlichting Schlichting, Carl (Department Head)
Office: TLS 366
Phone: (860) 486-4056
E-mail: carl.schlichting@uconn.edu
Phenotypic evolution; ecology and evolution of phenotypic plasticity and reaction norms; evolution of plant breeding systems.

 
Photo of Eric Schultz Schultz, Eric (Professor)
Office: BioPharm 205B
Phone: (860) 486-4692
E-mail: eric.schultz@uconn.edu
Evolutionary ecology, physiological ecology, and population biology, especially of fishes; adaptation in life history traits; ecology of larval fishes.

 
Photo of Kurt Schwenk Schwenk, Kurt (Professor)
Office: BioPharm 600
Phone: (860) 486-0351
E-mail: kurt.schwenk@uconn.edu
Evolution of form and function; evolultionary and functional morphology of amphibians, reptiles and mammals; evolution of feeding and chemosensory systems in squamate reptiles.

 
Photo of Chris Simon Simon, Chris (Professor)
Office: BioPharm 305D
Phone: (860) 486-4640
E-mail: chris.simon@uconn.edu
Molecular evolution and systematics using insects as model organisms; rates of evolution related to molecular processes in mitichondrial DNA; reconstructing evolutionary patterns. Biodiversity discovery and the understanding of the origin, maintenance, spread, and natural history of biodiversity.

 
Photo of Robert Thorson Thorson, Robert (Professor)
Office: TLS 83/Beach Hall
Phone: (860) 486-1396
E-mail: robert.thorson@uconn.edu
Glacial and Quaternary geology; geomorphology; archaeological geology; applied surficial geology.

 
Photo of Stephen Trumbo Trumbo, Stephen (Professor)
Office: SE-21, Waterbury / TLS 83
Phone: (203) 236-9878
E-mail: trumbo@uconn.edu
Evolution of parental and social behavior, especially of insects; behavioral endocrinology; division of labor in social insects; community ecology.

 
Photo of Peter Turchin Turchin, Peter (Professor)
Office: TLS 462
Phone: (860) 486-3603
E-mail: peter.turchin@uconn.edu
Theoretical ecology, especially interactions between models and data; movement and spatial population dynamics; complex dynamics in natural populations.

 
Photo of Mark Urban Urban, Mark (Assistant Professor)
Office:  BioPharm 200A
Phone: (860) 486-6113
E-mail: mark.urban@uconn.edu

 
Photo of David Wagner Wagner, David (Professor)
Office: TLS 471
Phone: (860) 486-2139
E-mail: david.wagner@uconn.edu
Systematics; phylogenetics, especially of the Lepidoptera; insect behavior and ecology; invertebrate conservation.

 
Photo of Jill Wegrzyn Wegrzyn, Jill (Assistant Research Professor)
Office: TLS 75
Phone: (860) 486-8742
E-mail: jill.wegrzyn@uconn.edu
Scientific databasing and visualization; machine learning; semantic web; ontologies; computational biology; plant genomics; comparative genomics.

 
Photo of Kentwood Wells Wells, Kentwood (Professor)
Office: TLS 380
Phone: (860) 486-4454
E-mail: kentwood.wells@uconn.edu
Social behavior of vertebrates, especially amphibians; aggressive behavior, mating systems, parental care and vocal communication of frogs; energetics of vocalization in frogs.

 
Photo of Michael Willig Willig, Michael (Professor)
Office: Building 4 Annex, Room 162
Phone: (860) 486-1455
E-mail: michael.willig@uconn.edu
Behavioral Ecology, Biogeography, Community Ecology, Conservation Biology, Disturbance Ecology, Macroecology, Mammalogy, Morphometrics, Theoretical Ecology

 
Photo of Charles Yarish Yarish, Charles (Professor)
Office: 360, Stamford Campus
Phone: (203) 251-8432
E-mail: charles.yarish@uconn.edu
Marine phycology; aquaculture; ecophysiology, phytogeography and population ecology of benthic marine algae and submerged aquatic vegetation.

 
Photo of Yaowu Yuan Yuan, Yaowu (Assistant Professor)
Office:  BioPharm 300A
Phone:  860-486-3469
E-mail: yaowu.yuan@uconn.edu
Genetics, development, and evolution of phenotypic diversity; Evo-devo; Genetics of adaptation and speciation; Plant-pollinator interactions; Transposable elements and plant genomics; Plant molecular systematics

Emeritus

Photo of Gregory Anderson   Anderson, Gregory (Professor Emeritus)
Office: TLS 381
Phone: (860) 486-4555
E-mail: gregory.anderson@uconn.edu
Systematics and evolution of vascular plants, especially tropical Solanaceae; pollination and reproductive biology; evolution of domesticated plants; ethnobotany.

  DiCecco, Dorothea (Professor Emeritus)
Office: Waterbury
Phone: (860) 236-9877
E-mail: dorothea.dicecco@uconn.edu

Photo of Carl Schaefer   Schaefer, Carl (Professor Emeritus)
Office: TLS 377
Phone: (860) 486-4455
E-mail: carl.schaefer@uconn.edu
Insect systematics; family-group systematics and phylogeny of Heteroptera; insect morphology and evolution.

Photo of John Silander, Jr.   Silander, Jr., John (Professor Emeritus)
Office: BioPharm 205D
Phone: (860) 486-2168
E-mail: john.silander_jr@uconn.edu
Plant ecology and evolution; experimental plant population and community ecology; plant competition; ecological genetics; conservation biology; ecology of invasives.

Photo of Theodore Taigen   Taigen, Theodore (Professor Emeritus)
Office: TLS 184/Gampel
Phone: (860) 486-4154
E-mail: theodore.taigen@uconn.edu
Physiological ecology; exercise physiology of lower vertebrates; metabolic correlates of amphibian behavior.

Photo of Terry Webster   Webster, Terry (Professor Emeritus)
Office: TLS 304
Phone: (860) 486-0178
E-mail: terry.webster@uconn.edu

Research Scientists

Photo of Lori Benoit   Benoit, Lori (Research Scientist)
Office: BioPharm 317
Phone: (860) 486-3937
E-mail: lori.benoit@uconn.edu
Molecular genetics and genomics; evolutionary biology; plant systematics; invasive species biology and genetics; genetic bases of herbicide resistance.

  Filoramo, Nirvana (Gratis Research Scientist)
Office: 
Phone: (508) 793-7654
E-mail: nfiloramo@clarku.edu

Photo of Allison Kaufman   Kaufman, Allison (Research Scientist)
Office: Tasker 41
Phone: (860) 486-4685
E-mail: allison.kaufman@uconn.edu
Animal cognition, particular interest in parrots and marine mammals; comparative cognition as a way to examine evolutionary pressures; innovative abilities and adaptation in non-human animals

Photo of Marta Wells   Wells, Marta (Research Scientist)
Office: TLS 218
Phone: (860) 486-4550
E-mail: marta.wells@uconn.edu
Evolutionary biology, molecular evolution, speciation on green lacewings (Neuroptera), courtship song behavior

Adjunct Faculty

Dam, Hans (Adjunct Professor)
Office: Avery Point Campus
Phone: (860) 405-9098
E-mail: hans.dam@uconn.edu

Dierssen, Heidi (Associate Professor)
Office: 
Phone:  (860) 405-9086
E-mail: heidi.dierssen@uconn.edu

Gogarten, J. Peter (Adjunct Professor)
Office: BSP 404
Phone: (860) 486-4061
E-mail: j.p.gogarten@uconn.edu
Horizontal gene transfer; origin of eukaryotes and gene families; among site rate variation, dating, and artifacts in phylogenetic reconstruction; evolution of structure and function of proton pumping ATPases; inteins.

Lin, Senjie (Adjunct Professor)
Office: Avery Point Campus
Phone: (860) 405-9168
E-mail: senjie.lin@uconn.edu
My research is focused on three aspects of marine phytoplankton and heterotrophic dinoflagellates: 1) using molecular techniques to study growth rate (i.e. cell division rate) and ecological adaptation; 2) cell-environment communication and environme

McManus, George (Adjunct Professor)
Office: Avery Point Campus
Phone: (860) 405-9164
E-mail: george.mcmanus@uconn.edu
Protozoan ecology, especially trophic roles of protozoa and other microzooplankton; bacterioplankton growth and mortality; phytoplankton pigments.

Ortega, Morty (Adjunct Professor)
Office: 
Phone: (860) 486-0161
E-mail: morty.ortega@uconn.edu

Ostfeld, Richard (Adjunct Professor)
Office: 
Phone: (845) 677-5343
E-mail: rostfeld@ecostudies.org
Community ecology; Herbivore-plant interactions; Behavioral, population, and community ecology of mammals; Ecology of infectious diseases; Animal population dynamics.

Ward, J. Evan (Adjunct)
Office:  Avery Point
Phone: (860) 405-9073
E-mail: evan.ward@uconn.edu

Whitlatch, Robert (Adjunct Professor)
Office: TLS 83
Phone: (860) 405-9154
E-mail: robert.whitlatch@uconn.edu
Marine benthic population and community ecology; how abiotic and biotic processes influence the distribution and composition of populations and communities.


56 people total