skip to content

 Show: [All] [Faculty] [Staff] [Grads] [Postdocs] [Former]


EEB Graduate Students

This is a listing of the current graduate students in the EEB Department. Please contact Kathy Tebo to report inaccuracies or omissions.

Photo of Simona Augyte Augyte, Simona (Doctoral Student)
Office:  TLS 375
Phone: (860) 486-0858
E-mail:  simona.augyte@uconn.edu
Yarish Lab
Ecophysiology, molecular biology, aquaculture and biogeography of North Atlantic kelp (Laminariales).

Photo of James Bernot Bernot, James (Masters Student)
Office:  TLS 478
Phone: (860) 486-1882
E-mail: james.bernot@uconn.edu
Caira Lab
Host-parasite relationships; taxonomy, systematics, and evolution of elasmobranch tapeworms and their hosts.

Bigwood, Laura (Doctoral Student)
Office:  BioPharm 202A
Phone: (860) 486-4458
E-mail: laura.bigwood@uconn.edu
Adams Lab
 

Photo of Alyssa Borowske Borowske, Alyssa (Doctoral Student)
Office: BioPharm 310A
Phone: (860) 486-3005
E-mail: alyssa.borowske@uconn.edu
Elphick Lab
Ecology, behavior, and conservation of migratory songbirds; influences of life history characteristics and seasonality on causes and consequences of habitat selection and use; saltmarsh (Ammodramus caudacutus) and seaside (Ammodramus maritimus) sparrows on their breeding and wintering grounds

Photo of Vanessa Boukili Boukili, Vanessa (Doctoral Student)
Office:  BioPharm 219
Phone:  (860) 486-0805
E-mail: vanessa.boukili@uconn.edu
Chazdon Lab
Secondary forest regeneration; Neotropical forests; Plant physiology and functional traits; Community ecology. My research will explore the link between plant functional traits and community composition in the neotropics.

Photo of Holly Brown Brown, Holly (Doctoral Student)
Office:  BioPharm 402
Phone: (860) 486-0309
E-mail:  holly.k.brown@uconn.edu
Rubega Lab
Behavioral and sensory ecology of predator-prey interactions across the air-water interface, specifically between foraging herons (Ardea spp.) and their underwater prey. Also, formal and informal science education.

Photo of Veronica Bueno Bueno, Veronica (Doctoral Student)
Office: TLS 478
Phone: (860) 486-1882
E-mail: veronica.m.bueno@uconn.edu
Caira Lab
Taxonomy, Systematics and Biogeography of Eucestoda parasites and their elasmobranch hosts. Investigation of co-evolutionary patterns using both morphological and molecular data.

Photo of Kevin Burgio Burgio, Kevin (Doctoral Student)
Office: BioPharm 402
Phone: (860) 486-3839
E-mail: kevin.burgio@uconn.edu
Rubega Lab
Evidence-based conservation biology; avian behavior, especially the Psitticidae family; invasive species; human/wildlife interactions; ecological modeling.

Photo of Wen Chen Chen, Wen (Doctoral Student)
Office: BioPharm 204
Phone: (860) 486-4458
E-mail: wen.chen@uconn.edu
Adams Lab
Invasion biology on a New England invasive ant species: Myrmica rubra. Currently working on species distribution models on different geographical scales, phylogeographic studies, colony structures of this species.

Photo of Laura Cisneros Cisneros, Laura (Doctoral Student)
Office:  CESE 187 Bldg 4 Annex
Phone:  (860) 486-1772
E-mail:  laura.cisneros@uconn.edu
Willig Lab
Community Ecology; Metacommunity Ecology; Landscape Ecology; Animal-Plant Interactions; Impacts of Anthropogenic Disturbance on Wildlife; Neotropical Mammals.

Cole, Daniel (BS/MS Student)
Office: 
Phone: (860) 486-xxxx
E-mail: daniel.cole@uconn.edu
Henry Lab

Photo of Francisco Concha Toro Concha Toro, Francisco (Doctoral Student)
Office: TLS 478
Phone: (860) 486-1882
E-mail: francisco.concha_toro@uconn.edu
Caira Lab
Biology, reproduction, ecology behavior and conservation of Chondrichthyes

Photo of Jeffrey Divino Divino, Jeffrey (Doctoral Student)
Office: BioPharm 210A
Phone: (860) 486-4694
E-mail: jeffrey.divino@uconn.edu
Schultz Lab
Ecophysiology of threespine sticklebacks: patterns and mechanisms of divergence in osmoregulatory capacity among populations living in different salinities.

Photo of Kathryne Durant Durant, Kathryne (BS/MS Student)
Office: 
Phone: 
E-mail: kathryne.durant@uconn.edu
Willig Lab
Conservation biology; Behavioral ecology; Environmental protection; I have done previous research studying crustacean reproduction and physiology; I am currently doing research studying reproduction in phyllostomid bats.

Photo of Christopher Field Field, Christopher (Doctoral Student)
Office: BioPharm 310
Phone: (860) 486-3005
E-mail: christopher.field@huskymail.uconn.edu
Elphick Lab
Population biology of salt marsh birds; evidence-based conservation biology; systematic reserve design; ecological modeling, especially using Bayesian methods; evidence-based science communication.

Photo of Cera Fisher Fisher, Cera (Doctoral Student)
Office: PBB 318
Phone: (860) 486-6215
E-mail: cera.lawrence@uconn.edu
Jockusch Lab
Evo-devo and gene regulation; evolution of insect morphology, especially prothoracic projections; metamorphosis. Also interested in bioinformatics and next generation sequencing. I'm currently working on small scale RNAi projects in Tribolium castaneum, the red flour beetle, and aspire to apply this and other techniques to understanding the development of the pronotum structures of treehoppers (Hemiptera, Membracidae).

Photo of Andrew Frank Frank, Andrew (Doctoral Student)
Office: PBB 322
Phone: (860) 486-6125
E-mail: andrew.frank@uconn.edu
Jockusch Lab
Taxonomy, systematics, and speciation of marine Nemertean worms; and speciation of cave and spring morphs of freshwater amphipods. Speciation, parallel evolution, and mechanical reproductive isolation in North American skinks.

Gagliardi, Benedict (Masters Student)
Office: 
Phone: (860) 486-5503
E-mail: benlgagz@sbcglobal.net
Wagner Lab

Photo of Kaitlin Gallagher Gallagher, Kaitlin (Doctoral Student)
Office: TLS 478
Phone: (860) 486-1882
E-mail: kaitlin.gallagher@uconn.edu
Caira Lab
Host-parasite relationships; parasites as bioindicators for elasmobranchs; evolution of elasmobranch cestodes

Photo of Geert Goemans Goemans, Geert (Doctoral Student)
Office: BioPharm 323
Phone: (860) 486-3947
E-mail: geert.goemans@uconn.edu
Simon Lab
Taxonomy, Systematics, Phylogeny, Biodiversity and Biogeography of the cicada tribe Zammarini. My dissertation research aims to combine morphological, molecular, behavioral, acoustic and biogeographic data to make a monograph of the Neotropical tribe Zammarini. I will also produce (digital) identification keys for male and female specimens that should work both for experts and 'amateurs'.

Photo of Heidi Golden Golden, Heidi (Doctoral Student)
Office: BioPharm 211
Phone: (860) 486-6154
E-mail: heidi.golden@uconn.edu
Urban Lab
Metapopulation dynamics, population genetics and trophic interactions of Arctic freshwater fish.

Photo of Johana Goyes Vallejos Goyes Vallejos, Johana (Doctoral Student)
Office: TLS 379
Phone: (860) 486-5434
E-mail: johana.goyes-vallejos@uconn.edu
K. Wells Lab
Behavioral ecology and evolution: sexual selection, animal communication, mate choice and predation risk in vertebrates, particularly amphibians.

Photo of Ryan Hall Hall, Ryan (BS/MS Student)
Office: 
Phone: 
E-mail: ryan.hall@uconn.edu
Schwenk Lab
Ornithology; Aviculture; Conservation biology; I am interested in behavior, reproduction and conservation of avian species through captive breeding programs and research.

Photo of Sara Ann Horwitz Horwitz, Sara Ann (Masters Student)
Office: BioPharm 410A
Phone: (860) 486-4158
E-mail: sara.horwitz@huskymail.uconn.edu
Schwenk Lab
Behavioral ecology, and locomotion in snakes.

Photo of Shannon (Shin-nan) Hsieh Hsieh, Shannon (Shin-nan) (Masters Student)
Office: TLS 461
Phone: (860) 486-6650
E-mail: shannon.hsieh@uconn.edu
Bush Lab
Paleobiology; Biodiversity and the fossil record; The Late Devonian mass extinction

Hutson, Michael (Doctoral Student)
Office: 
Phone: (860) 486-xxxx
E-mail: michael.hutson@uconn.edu
Urban Lab

Ivovic, Milica (Doctoral Student)
Office: 
Phone: 
E-mail: milica.ivovic@uconn.edu
Schlichting Lab

Photo of Hayley Kilroy Mollmann Kilroy Mollmann, Hayley (Doctoral Student)
Office: BioPharm 223
Phone: (860) 486-4157
E-mail: hayley.kilroy@uconn.edu
Silander Lab
Plant community ecology, functional ecology, and landscape ecology. Specifically, I am interested in species' distribution/abundance patterns in response to shifting and dynamic climate patterns and human alterations of the landscape. I am currently working on functional traits and dispersal models of plants in the Cape Floristic Region of South Africa.

Photo of Ursula King King, Ursula (Doctoral Student)
Office: BioPharm 317A
Phone: (860) 486-3937
E-mail: ursula.m.king@uconn.edu
Les Lab
Population genetics and phylogenomics: Using Next Generation sequencing, my dissertation research aims to develop microsatellite markers for a freshwater annual plant, Najas flexilis and additionally, to conduct a chloroplast genome comparison between major clades in the genus Najas.

Photo of Brian Klingbeil Klingbeil, Brian (Doctoral Student)
Office: CESE 187 Bldg 4 Annex
Phone: (860) 486-1772
E-mail: brian.klingbeil@uconn.edu
Willig Lab
Landscape ecology, biodiversity monitoring and conservation, effects of landscape structure on population, community, and metacommunity dynamics of bats and birds.

Photo of Lily Lewis Lewis, Lily (Doctoral Student)
Office: BioPharm 312A
Phone: (860) 486-6306
E-mail: lily.lewis@uconn.edu
Goffinet Lab
Population genetics and phylogeny of the dung moss genus Tetraplodon.

McAloon, Michael (Doctoral Student)
Office: TLS 479
Phone: 
E-mail: michael.mcaloon@uconn.edu
Henry Lab
Systematics of the Acari, particularly of the Family Trombiculidae; Digital Taxonomic Resources.

Photo of Russell Meister Meister, Russell (Doctoral Student)
Office: BioPharm 323
Phone: (860) 486-3947
E-mail:  russell.meister@uconn.edu
Simon Lab
Phylogeny, Systematics, and Coevolution of cicadas and their gut endosymbionts. Also I will also focus on the isolation of bacterial proteins from these symbionts in order to study their function. I also am interested in DNA barcoding.

Photo of James Mickley Mickley, James (Doctoral Student)
Office: TLS 363
Phone: (860) 486-4638
E-mail: james.mickley@uconn.edu
Schlichting Lab
Botany, fire ecology, invasion dynamics, seed banks, modeling, databases and information management, floral selection and the evolutionary significance of merosity in angiosperms.

Photo of Nora Mitchell Mitchell, Nora (Doctoral Student)
Office: BioPharm 302
Phone: (860) 486-5731
E-mail: nora.mitchell@uconn.edu
Holsinger Lab
Evolutionary ecology, genetics of the South African Protea (sugarbushes).

Photo of Kerri Mocko Mocko, Kerri (Doctoral Student)
Office:  BioPharm 400A
Phone: (860) 486-4027
E-mail: kerri.mocko@uconn.edu
Jones Lab
Evolution of form and function in vascular plants; leaf traits; South African plants and specifically the genus Pelargonium (Geraniaceae).

Photo of Tim Moore Moore, Tim (Doctoral Student)
Office: TLS 363A
Phone: (860) 486-4638
E-mail: timothy.e.moore@uconn.edu
Schlichting Lab
Plant molecular systematics; primarily in its application to questions of adaptation and understanding of the processes that drive inter- and intraspecific variation in functional attributes, as well as the implications these processes may have for ecology and evolution. Focusing on the Cape Floristic Region of South Africa.

Photo of Suman Neupane Neupane, Suman (Doctoral Student)
Office: TLS 162
Phone: 
E-mail: suman.neupane@uconn.edu
P. Lewis Lab
Systematics of the flowering plant genus Hedyotis (in the coffee family Rubiaceae), and the evolution of secondary woodiness in endemic plants of tropical montane islands.

Orzechowski, Nicole (BS/MS Student)
Office: 
Phone: (860) 486-xxxx
E-mail: nicole.orzechowski@uconn.edu
Schultz Lab

Photo of Kasey Celene Pregler Pregler, Kasey Celene (Masters Student)
Office:  BioPharm 210A
Phone: (860) 486-4694
E-mail: kasey.pregler@uconn.edu
Schultz Lab

Photo of Jessica Rack Rack, Jessica (Doctoral Student)
Office: BioPharm 211
Phone: (860) 486-6154
E-mail: jessica.rack@uconn.edu
Urban Lab
Predator-prey chemical signaling in amphibians; coevolution; differences in behavioral responses to chemical cues on a spatial scale.

Rahmatpour, Nasim (Doctoral Student)
Office: 
Phone: (860) 486-xxxx
E-mail: nasim.rahmatpour@uconn.edu
Goffinet Lab

Ray, Dustin (Doctoral Student)
Office: BioPharm 400A
Phone: (860) 486-4027
E-mail: dustin.ray@uconn.edu
Jones Lab
Evolution of form and function in vascular plants; stem anatomy; water relations; South African plants, specifically the genus Pelargonium (Geraniaceae)

Photo of Hamid Razyfard Razyfard, Hamid (Doctoral Student)
Office: BioPharm 319
Phone: (860) 486-3937
E-mail: hamid.razyfard@uconn.edu
Les Lab
Angiosperm systematics, phylogeny, and population genetics; particularly in Elatine L. (Elatinaceae), a genus of aquatic herbs.

Photo of Alejandro Rico Guevara Rico Guevara, Alejandro (Doctoral Student)
Office:  Pharmacy/Biology 404
Phone: (860) 486-0309
E-mail: a.rico@uconn.edu
Rubega Lab
My investigation is aimed at solving questions pertaining to the link between feeding mechanisms and social systems of tropical nectarivores. Currently I have three research lines: sexually-dimorphic weapons, biophysical modeling of nectar intake, and evolutionary convergences on nectarivorous birds' feeding mechanisms including related morphological traits.

Rock-Blake, Rachel Esther (Doctoral Student)
Office:  BioPharm 405
Phone: (860) 486-4027
E-mail: r.rockblake@gmail.com
Jones Lab

Photo of William Ryerson Ryerson, William (Doctoral Student)
Office: BioPharm 412
Phone: (860) 486-4158
E-mail: william.ryerson@uconn.edu
Schwenk Lab
Vertebrate morphology, physiology and biomechanics, particularly the form and function of animal movement, and how these principles change through ontgony and evolution.

Photo of Manette Sandor Sandor, Manette (Doctoral Student)
Office: BioPharm 219A
Phone: (860) 486-7955
E-mail: manette.sandor@uconn.edu
Elphick Lab
Community ecology of tropical tree communities; secondary forest regeneration; Neotropical forests; biodiversity.

Photo of Katherine Shaw Shaw, Katherine (Doctoral Student)
Office: TLS 364
Phone: (860) 486-4638
E-mail: katherine.shaw@uconn.edu
Schlichting Lab
Phenotypic plasticity, behavioral ecology and mating systems -- more specifically, behavioral and color plasticity related to alternative mating tactics and geographic variation in behavior of the Threespine stickleback (Gasterosteus aculeatus).

Shelly, Emma (Doctoral Student)
Office: 
Phone: (860) 486-xxxx
E-mail: emma.shelly@uconn.edu
Elphick Lab

Photo of Anna Sjodin Sjodin, Anna (Doctoral Student)
Office: Building Four Annex Room 187
Phone: (860) 486-1772
E-mail: anna.sjodin@uconn.edu
Willig Lab
Anthropogenic disturbance, neotropical mammals, host-parasite ecology and evolution, wildlife disease, landscape ecology, behavioral ecology, conservation biology

Smircich, Michael (Masters Student)
Office:  BioPharm 310
Phone: (860) 486-4694
E-mail: michael.smircich@uconn.edu
Schultz Lab

Photo of Jonathan Velotta Velotta, Jonathan (Doctoral Student)
Office:  BioPharm 210
Phone: (860) 486-4694
E-mail: jonathan.velotta@uconn.edu
Schultz Lab
Microevolution and ontogeny of the osmoregulatory system in an anadromous shad known as the alewife (Alosa pseudoharengus).

Photo of Elizabeth Wade Wade, Elizabeth (Doctoral Student)
Office:  BioPharm 323A
Phone: (860) 486-3947
E-mail: elizabeth.wade@uconn.edu
Simon Lab
Speciation, adaptive radiation and hybridization in the New Zealand cicada genus Kikihia.

Photo of Amanda Wendt Wendt, Amanda (Doctoral Student)
Office:  BioPharm 217A
Phone: (860) 486-0805
E-mail: amanda.wendt@uconn.edu
Chazdon Lab

Williams, Tanisha (Doctoral Student)
Office: 
Phone: (860) 486-xxxx
E-mail: tanisha.williams@uconn.edu
Schlichting Lab

Woods, Ellen (Masters Student)
Office: 
Phone: (860) 486-xxxx
E-mail: ellen.woods@uconn.edu
Holsinger Lab

Photo of Yingying Xie Xie, Yingying (Doctoral Student)
Office: BioPharm 223A
Phone: (860) 486-4157
E-mail: yingying.xie@uconn.edu
Silander Lab
Global change ecology and plant phenology. Now I am working on comparison of phenological responses to climate change between New England and East Asia, and using cameras to monitor plant canopy phenological events.

Photo of Brigette Zacharczenko Zacharczenko, Brigette (Doctoral Student)
Office: TLS 471
Phone: (860) 486-5503
E-mail: brigette.zacharczenko@uconn.edu
Wagner Lab
Invertebrate systematics, speciation, and developmental biology. Evolutionary biology of the noctuid moth genus Acronicta with a focus on larval mimicry complexes, and changes in morphology and behavior between instars.


59 people total