Parasitology

From eebedia

(Difference between revisions)
Jump to: navigation, search
 
(20 intermediate revisions by one user not shown)
Line 48: Line 48:
 
E-mail: [mailto:maria.pickering@uconn.edu maria.pickering@uconn.edu]<br>
 
E-mail: [mailto:maria.pickering@uconn.edu maria.pickering@uconn.edu]<br>
 
Office hours: Mondays, 10-11 am, and by appointment
 
Office hours: Mondays, 10-11 am, and by appointment
 +
 +
 +
== Announcements ==
 +
 +
'''REVIEW SESSION''' for Exam 2: 4:00-6:30pm, Monday, October 24
 +
 +
:{{pdf|http://hydrodictyon.eeb.uconn.edu/courses/parasitology/Study_Guide_Exam_1_11_rev.pdf}}  Study Guide for Exam 1-revised
 +
 +
:{{pdf|http://hydrodictyon.eeb.uconn.edu/courses/parasitology/4274_Exam_1_2009.pdf}}  Exam 1 from 2009
 +
 +
 +
:{{pdf|http://hydrodictyon.eeb.uconn.edu/courses/parasitology/Study_Guide_Exam_2_11_rev.pdf}}Study Guide for Exam 2-revised
 +
 +
:{{pdf|http://hydrodictyon.eeb.uconn.edu/courses/parasitology/Exam%202%20EEB%204274%20F09.pdf}}Exam 2 from 2009
 +
 +
 +
:{{pdf|http://hydrodictyon.eeb.uconn.edu/courses/parasitology/Study_Guide_Exam_3_11_revised.pdf}}Study Guide Exam 3-revised
 +
 +
:{{pdf|http://hydrodictyon.eeb.uconn.edu/courses/parasitology/Exam%203%20S2009%20EEB%204274.pdf}}Exam 3 from 2009
 +
 +
:{{pdf|http://hydrodictyon.eeb.uconn.edu/courses/parasitology/EEB%204274%20Final%20potential%20essay%20questions.pdf}} Potential Final Essay Questions
 +
  
  
Line 205: Line 227:
 
[http://www.k-state.edu/parasitology/546tutorials/titlepage.html?redirect=Index Human Parasitology Tutorial]<br>
 
[http://www.k-state.edu/parasitology/546tutorials/titlepage.html?redirect=Index Human Parasitology Tutorial]<br>
  
[https://www.msu.edu/course/zol/316/ Parasites Online]
+
[http://www.msu.edu/course/zol/316/ Parasites Online]<br>
 +
 
 +
[http://www.malariasite.com/malaria/Differentiation.htm Malaria Differentiation]<br>
 +
 
 +
[http://www.ted.com/talks/bill_gates_unplugged.html TED Talk: Bill Gates on mosquitos, malaria, and education]
 +
 
 +
[http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bT774hw8YxU Zombie snail video!]
 +
 
 +
[http://www.microbeworld.org/index.php?option=com_content&view=category&layout=blog&id=99&Itemid=259 TWIP--This Week In Parasitism, a podcast]
 +
 
 +
[http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zo8sXhh85Lo&feature=related Glochidia larvae being transferred to fish host video]
 +
 
 +
[http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Df_iGe_JSzI Nematomorph emerging from cricket video]
 +
 
 +
[http://www.nematomorpha.net/GeneralInformation.html Nematomorph website]
 +
 
 +
[http://www.cartercenter.org/health/guinea_worm/mini_site/index.html Guinea worm Eradication website]
 +
 
 +
[http://www.cartercenter.org/health/guinea_worm/mini_site/gallery.html Excellent Guinea worm video!]
 +
 
 +
 
  
  
Line 211: Line 253:
  
 
[http://www.cnn.com/2011/HEALTH/08/17/amoeba.kids.deaths/index.html Brain-eating amoeba]<br>
 
[http://www.cnn.com/2011/HEALTH/08/17/amoeba.kids.deaths/index.html Brain-eating amoeba]<br>
 +
 +
[http://healthland.time.com/2011/09/07/a-tick-borne-parasite-threatens-the-blood-supply/ Parasite in Blood Supply]<br>
 +
 +
[http://www.nytimes.com/2011/08/23/science/23parasite.html?_r=1&ref=parasites Study finds ''Toxoplasma'' Hijacks Rats' Arousal Circuitry]

Latest revision as of 11:03, 9 December 2011

Calliobothrium schneiderae, shark tapeworm
Parasitology Field Trip 2007

EEB 4274: INTRODUCTION TO ANIMAL PARASITOLOGY

Fall 2011


This is an introductory course of the survey type. Coverage includes the diversity of protozoan and metazoan groups with members that parasitize animals. There is some emphasis on groups of particular medical and/or economic importance. The lectures and labs emphasize knowledge of the biology of individual parasites. Some "principles of parasitism" are introduced in relation to groups of parasites that exemplify them particularly well.



Contents

Meeting Times

Lecture: Monday, Wednesday, Friday 9-9:50am in TLS 313
Lab Sections: Wednesday 1-4pm or 5-8pm in TLS 313


PARASITOLOGY FIELD TRIP to SUNY Oneonta Biological Field Station

Depart: Friday, Sept. 23 at Noon
Return: Sunday, Sept. 25 at Noon


Required text

Foundations of Parasitology, 8th Edition. (2009) by Larry S. Roberts and John Janovy, Jr.


Please note: There is no formal laboratory manual for this course. You will be provided with laboratory handouts for each lab. Your textbook will serve as your formal laboratory reference. Please be sure to bring your textbook to lab each week.

Instructors

Dr. Janine Caira
Office: Torrey Life Sciences 483
Phone: 486-4060
E-mail: janine.caira@uconn.edu
Office hours: By appointment


Maria Pickering (teaching assistant)
Office: Torrey Life Sciences 478
Phone: 486-1882
E-mail: maria.pickering@uconn.edu
Office hours: Mondays, 10-11 am, and by appointment


Announcements

REVIEW SESSION for Exam 2: 4:00-6:30pm, Monday, October 24

Pdficon small.gif Study Guide for Exam 1-revised
Pdficon small.gif Exam 1 from 2009


Pdficon small.gifStudy Guide for Exam 2-revised
Pdficon small.gifExam 2 from 2009


Pdficon small.gifStudy Guide Exam 3-revised
Pdficon small.gifExam 3 from 2009
Pdficon small.gif Potential Final Essay Questions


Lecture Schedule

Date Topic Readings
Mon. Aug. 29 Introduction to Parasitology; Introduction to parasitic protozoans Chs. 1 & 4
Wed. Aug. 31 Retortomonada; Chromista; Ciliophora Chs. 6 & 10
Fri. Sept. 2 Ciliophora; Rhizopoda; Parabasalia; Microsporida Chs. 6, 7 & 11
Mon. Sept. 5 LABOR DAY--NO CLASS
Wed. Sept. 7 Euglenozoa (Trypanosoma) Ch. 5
Fri. Sept. 9 Euglenozoa (Trypanosoma) Ch. 5
Mon. Sept. 12 Euglenozoa (Leishmania); Dinoflagellata Ch. 5
Wed. Sept. 14 Introduction to Apicomplexa; Haemospororida Ch. 9
Fri. Sept. 16 Haemospororida Ch. 9
Mon. Sept. 19 Haemospororida; Piroplasmorida; Coccidiasina Chs. 9 & 8
Wed. Sept. 21 Coccidiasina Ch. 8
Fri. Sept. 23 Coccidiasina (Depart for Field Trip 12:00 pm) Ch. 8
Mon. Sept. 26 Gregarinasina Ch. 8
Wed. Sept. 28 Introduction to Platyhelminthes; minor platyhelminth groups Chs. 13 & 14
Fri. Sept. 30 LECTURE EXAM #1 (covers "protozoans")
Mon. Oct. 3 In-class group exercise: “protozoans”
Wed. Oct. 5 Introduction to Digenea; digenean life-cycles Ch. 15
Fri. Oct. 7 liver flukes Chs. 17 & 18
Mon. Oct. 10 liver flukes; lung flukes Chs. 17 & 18
Wed. Oct. 12 blood flukes Ch. 16
Fri. Oct. 14 Monogenea Ch. 19
Mon. Oct. 17 Introduction to Cestoda Ch. 20
Wed. Oct. 19 cestode life-cycles; non-human cestode groups Ch. 21
Fri. Oct. 21 Cestoda (Pseudophyllidea) Ch. 21
Mon. Oct. 24 Cestoda (Cyclophyllidea) Ch. 21
Wed. Oct. 26 LECTURE EXAM #2 (covers "platyhelminths")
Fri. Oct. 28 In-class group exercise: platyhelminths
Mon. Oct. 31 Introduction to Nematoda Ch. 22
Wed. Nov. 2 Nematoda (Rhabditea) Chs. 24, 25 & 26
Fri. Nov. 4 Nematoda (Rhabditea) Chs. 27, 29 & 30
Mon. Nov. 7 Nematoda (Enoplea) Ch. 23
Wed. Nov. 9 Miscellaneous metazoan phyla Chs. 11, 31, & 32
Fri. Nov. 11 Introduction to Arthropoda; Crustacea Chs. 33, 34 & 35
Mon. Nov. 14 Acari (mites & ticks) Ch. 41
Wed. Nov. 16 Hexapoda (flies & fleas) Chs. 39 & 38
Fri. Nov. 18 NO CLASS (to make up for field trip)
Mon. Nov. 21 THANKSGIVING BREAK- NO CLASS
Wed. Nov. 23 THANKSGIVING BREAK- NO CLASS
Fri. Nov. 25 THANKSGIVING BREAK- NO CLASS
Mon. Nov. 28 Hexapoda (lice & bugs) Ch. 36
Wed. Nov. 30 In-class group exercise: nematodes and arthropods
Fri. Dec. 2 Parasite Ecology Ch. 2
Mon. Dec. 5 Evolution of Parasitism Ch. 2
Wed. Dec. 7 General Considerations Ch. 2
Fri. Dec. 9 General Considerations Ch. 2

FINAL EXAM: Monday, December 16, 8-10am =LECTURE EXAM #3 (1st hour) & COMPREHENSIVE ESSAY FINAL (2nd hour)

Lab Schedule

Date Lab Topic
Wed. Aug. 31 Lab 1 Introduction; Microscope use; Retortomonada; Chromista
Wed. Sept. 7 Lab 2 Ciliophora; Rhizopoda; Parabasalia; Microsporida
Wed. Sept. 14 Lab 3 Euglenozoa (Quiz #1- Labs 1 & 2)
Wed. Sept. 21 Lab 4 Apicomplexa I (Haemospororida; Piroplasmorida)
Fri. Sept. 23 - Sun. Sept. 25 FIELD TRIP! Field Parasitology at SUNY Oneonta Biological Field Station, Cooperstown, NY
Wed. Sept. 28 Lab 5 Apicomplexa II (Coccidiasina; Gregarinasina); (Quiz #2- Labs 3 & 4)
Wed. Oct. 5 Lab 6 Minor Platyhelminthes; Digenea I (general morphology and life cycle forms)
Wed. Oct. 12 Lab 7 LAB PRACTICAL #1 (Labs 1-6)
Wed. Oct. 19 Lab 8 Digenea II (liver, lung & blood flukes) (NOTEBOOKS due: Labs 1-6)
Wed. Oct. 26 Lab 9 Monogenea; Cestoda I (minor groups)
Wed. Nov. 2 Lab 10 Cestoda II (cyclophyllideans and pseudophyllideans); (Quiz #3- Labs 8 & 9)
Wed. Nov. 9 Lab 11 Nematoda I (Rhabditea)
Wed. Nov. 16 Lab 12 Nematoda II (remaining rhabditeans & Enoplea); Miscellaneous minor metazoan phyla; (Quiz #4- Labs 10 & 11)
Wed. Nov. 23 THANKSGIVING BREAK- NO LAB
Wed. Nov. 30 Lab 13 Arthropoda
Wed. Dec. 7 Lab 14 LAB PRACTICAL #2 (Labs 8-13); (NOTEBOOKS due: Labs 8-13); slide box check, etc.

Helpful and Interesting Links

Microscope Tutorial

Parasite of the Day Blog

Human Parasitology Tutorial

Parasites Online

Malaria Differentiation

TED Talk: Bill Gates on mosquitos, malaria, and education

Zombie snail video!

TWIP--This Week In Parasitism, a podcast

Glochidia larvae being transferred to fish host video

Nematomorph emerging from cricket video

Nematomorph website

Guinea worm Eradication website

Excellent Guinea worm video!



Recent Parasite Stories in the News

Brain-eating amoeba

Parasite in Blood Supply

Study finds Toxoplasma Hijacks Rats' Arousal Circuitry

Personal tools